The Decision:  We wanted our family to grow larger and share the blessings and experience of raising a child. I am not 100 percent certain when we actually began discussing adoption; it was quite a few years ago. It was always a desire of my husband’s to adopt a child, and while I thought it was an okay idea, it was not something I had anticipated as being part of my life. We broached the topic on and off for months. Slowly God began to create a new vision in my mind and heart as to what our family would look like, but I couldn’t bring myself to act on it.

We decided it was time to put it all on the table and make a decision.  We discussed our fears and concerns: What if I don’t like being a mom and want to send our child back? What about bonding and attachment? What if our child hates us? Can we manage the expense? Will our families accept and celebrate our decision? Is this God’s plan for our lives? How can we be certain?

Finally, after long discussions, we made a decision: We would begin the adoption process. I was committed to our decision, but it was hard. Then God sent a friend my way. She said to me, “Your fear is paralyzing you from doing what you want to do, what you should do. Your decision is not a bad one. You are simply afraid of the process. God wants to give you this gift; let Him!” Her words gave me courage; my husband’s patience gave me confidence; God’s nearness gave me peace … and so we continued taking steps forward to start our adoption.

As families contemplate the important decision of adoption, please refer to LSM’s Church Partnership Manual and the following handouts:  “Stepping out in the Unknown: Beginning Questions” and “Stepping Out in the Unknown:  Motives & Expectations.”

HT: Loving Shepherd Ministries e-bulletin

